Parish church of San Vitale
Designed by the architect Giuseppe Caresana (1696 – some time after 1764) this late Baroque parish church was built between 1756 and 1759 on the remains of a pre-existing basilica of early medieval origin. The church has some important works of art and a collection of archaeological finds, many of which were discovered during the excavation of the internal and external areas of the Baptistery in the 1920s and 1930s.
In the lower section of the main altar a wooden urn contains the remains of the Blessed Manfredo Settàla, a local hermit and miracle worker who died in 1217 and is still commemorated today throughout the region.
The late neoclassical facade (1865) was constructed by the architect Antonio Vassalli. Above the main door there is a hand-crafted bas-relief of St Vitale (1863) made by a local sculptor.
The two-tiered bell tower dates to 1754. The lantern evokes that of the bell tower of the church of Santa Croce.
To the right of the church is the former Chapel of Maria, now known as the Chapel of the Penitentiary, with its simple facade and polylobate oculus over the door, protected by a stunning work of wrought iron that dates from the eighteenth century, judging from below.
The building was fully restored in 1992 by the architects Giancarlo and Pia Durisch.